Alone in Azeroth

As this blog is supposed to have a focus on the solo player I am going to try and get back to that basic concept by leveling a new character from 1-85 all on his own and then see what he can do at endgame. It is also a really good excuse for me to level up a new Goblin and see everything that has changed in Azeroth along the way.

This project will be about what a player can do on their own time and without the support of a guild or other players. I did a project like this on my old blog but I have learned a lot since then and I think this is a good time to revisit the idea. This will not be a speed leveling exercise but more about finding interesting quests, leveling professions, and experiencing the world at a leisurely pace.

Why now?

Let me explain. Today, more than ever, guilds and grouping are being handed perks that will leave loners feeling a bit more marginalized than they used to. Guild Leveling is offering more perks than ever before to those play WoW as a social media activity. Some players are even forgoing questing entirely in favor of power-leveling using the Dungeon Finder tool. That’s’ fine but not everyone plays that way. I don’t play that way but I still enjoy the game.

And yes, I still want to level a new Goblin.

To this end I chose a Goblin Hunter named Skulzy and despite a few heirlooms he will be on his own from here on out with no help from my other alts. I could forgo the Heirlooms but I do like them and this isn’t so much about the “new player” experience as it is the “solo player” experience. I guess that justifies using them, doesn’t it? Maybe?

Okay, maybe not, but at least I got the heirlooms from my soloing characters in Wrath. None of these required any grouping to obtain. That’s my final justification for using them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

